Concert: Migration and Revolution

MIGRATION + REVOLUTION Rimsky-Korsakov String Quartet

BRAI is excited to once again present the renowned Rimsky-Korsakov String Quartet in the remarkable aesthetic setting of the Museum of Modern Renaissance 

Taking place 100 years, almost to the day, after the Bolshevik Revolution of October 1917, this special concert honors the memory of all those displaced and affected by it. It features compositions by Russian composers Sergey Rachmaninov and Aleksandr Gretchaninov, who emigrated to the US, as well as a rarely performed quartet by the Soviet Jewish composer Moshe Weinberg, a disciple and friend of Dimitri Shostakovich. .Buy Tickets>

Program (no intermission)
Sergey Rachmaninov: Unfinished Quartet No. 1, Romance and Scherzo
Mieczyslaw (Moshe) Weinberg: String Quartet n. 13, Op. 118
Alexander Gretchaninov: String Quartet n. 4, Op. 124

Saturday, October 21, 7:00 pm
at the Museum of the Modern Renaissance
115 College Ave, Somerville, MA 02144

 Early Bird (till Oct 14)    $32> General Admission  $45> BR360 VIP  $50> VIP

The Rimsky-Korsakov String Quartet was founded in 1939, and is the oldest operating quartet in Russia, regarded as a monument to the country's musical history. The present members of the Rimsky Korsakov String Quartet– Mikhail Bondarev (violin), Ekaterina Belisova (violin), Alexei Popov (viola) and Anton Andreev (cello) – are graduates of the prestigious Saint Petersburg Conservatory, and steeped in the grand tradition of Russian classical music. Their thoughtful and expressive interpretations of European and Russian classical chamber music as well as contemporary composers, are enjoyed by audiences at festivals and concert venues in Russia, Europe, Canada and the US.